Broad-Based Black Economic Empowerment Act (B-BBEE Act)
Act 53 of 2003
Provides the empowerment-compliance context often used in public-sector supplier evaluation.
Relevant because this is a South African public-sector procurement opportunity.
Documents available on tender detail page
Tender Type
Request for Quotation
Delivery Location
3rd Floor South Towers, 4 Arundel Close, 2 Kingsmead Boulevard, Stamford Hill - Durban - Durban - 4001
Organization Type
GOVERNMENT
Published
18 Sept 2026
OCDS Reference
ocds-9t57fa-171070
KZN growth fund agency invites fixed-price quotations for the supply and delivery of 21 herbal and traditional medicine items to the ugu municipality area under quotation package mpoto bulelani. Evaluation follows the 80/20 preference point system (80 points for price, 20 for specific goals including black ownership, black women ownership, black youth ownership and disability). Quotations must be submitted on company letterhead, inclusive of VAT and all disbursement costs, and accompanied by completed sbd 1, sbd 4 and sbd 6.1 Forms, csd registration proof, SARS tax compliance pin, and a b-bbee certificate or sworn affidavit to claim preference points.
Closing date and time: 02 October 2026 at 12:00 (12h00); submissions by email to [email protected] attention Mthokozisi Magcaba — late bids will not be accepted
Mandatory returnable forms: signed and completed SBD 1 (Invitation to Bid), SBD 4 (Bidder's Disclosure) and SBD 6.1 (Preference Points Claim Form)
Mandatory supporting documents: proof of CSD registration (MAAA number), SARS Tax Compliance Status PIN (or printed TCS certificate), company letterhead with fixed price quotation inclusive of 15% VAT and all disbursement costs, B-BBEE certificate or sworn affidavit (EME/QSE) for preference points
Specific-goal evidence required to claim points: B-BBEE certificate/affidavit, CSD report, owner ID documents, municipal account/lease agreement, doctor's certificate/disability database as applicable
Pricing schedule must be completed in the provided format; incomplete or altered schedules may invalidate the submission
Bidder must not be a person in the service of the state, nor a company with directors who are state employees
Authority to sign: proof of authority (e.g. board resolution) must be submitted
Continue with tenders sharing this issuer, category, or province.
Return to this tender’s issuing organisation, province, or category.
Continue with tenders sharing this issuer, category, or province.
Date & Time
Friday, 02 October 2026 - 12:00
Venue
null
Categories
Request for Quotation
3rd Floor South Towers, 4 Arundel Close, 2 Kingsmead Boulevard, Stamford Hill - Durban - Durban - 4001
AI Document Analysis Stages
Description
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)18 Sept
2026
Tender Published
Tender was published
02 Oct
2026
Closing Date
Tender closing date
These references help suppliers understand the public-procurement framework around this opportunity. They are generated from the tender category, issuing organisation type and procurement context.
These rules commonly apply to South African public-sector procurement.
Act 53 of 2003
Provides the empowerment-compliance context often used in public-sector supplier evaluation.
Relevant because this is a South African public-sector procurement opportunity.
Act 108 of 1996 (s217)
This is general procurement context, not legal advice. Always verify requirements in the official tender documents and issuing authority notices.
REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf
Supply and delivery of herbal and traditional medicine products, including herbal preparations, mineral salts, and wellness oils, for the Ugu Municipality area. The contract is issued by the KZN Growth Fund Agency under the Operation Vula Fund and is a single package (Package 1: Mpoto Bulelani) with 21 line items.
To download these documents and access AI-powered analysis, visit the main tender page.
Matched by category & region
Free guidance to prepare before you bid
Not sure if your business is ready for this tender? Check CSD, CIDB, and B-BBEE requirements, run a readiness assessment, and move from opportunity to submission.
Open Supplier Readiness HubMedian Estimate
R 850 000
Range
Based on 19 comparable awarded tenders. Companies with similar profiles typically bid near the median.
* Estimates are based on historical data and do not guarantee actual award values.
We refine every tender document through these stages so you can brief your team and prepare your bid with confidence. Anything marked as "in progress" will be upgraded automatically — no action required from you.
Procurement of herbal and traditional medicine products for the Ugu Municipality area under the Operation Vula Fund (OVF)
Single package: MPOTO BULELANI – Traditional Herbal & Natural Products Package covering 21 product lines including herbal preparations, traditional remedies, mineral salts, wellness oils, and spiritual cleansing preparations
Quantities range from 48 to 500 units per line item
Important Dates
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)Closing date and time: 02 October 2026 at 12:00 (12h00)
No compulsory briefing or site visit mentioned
No clarification deadline mentioned
Contact Information
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)Procurement enquiries:
Technical enquiries:
General organisational contact:
Submission address: email to [email protected] attention Mthokozisi Magcaba
Submission Guidelines
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)Submission method: email to [email protected] attention Mthokozisi Magcaba
Closing: 02 October 2026 at 12:00 (12h00)
Late bids will not be accepted
Returnable forms (all must be completed, signed and submitted):
Mandatory supporting documents:
Disqualification risks:
Returnable Documents
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)SBD 1 – Invitation to Bid: bidder details, offer acceptance, and authority to sign
SBD 4 – Bidder's Disclosure: declares state employment, relationships with procuring institution, and interest in related enterprises
SBD 6.1 – Preference Points Claim Form: claims specific-goal points under 80/20 system with supporting evidence
CSD registration proof (MAAA number)
SARS Tax Compliance Status PIN (or printed TCS certificate)
B-BBEE certificate or sworn affidavit (for preference points)
Owner ID documents, municipal account/lease agreement, doctor's certificate/disability database (as applicable for specific-goal claims)
Board resolution or proof of authority for authorised signatory
Evaluation Criteria
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)Evaluation system: 80/20 preference point system (price 80 points, specific goals 20 points)
Price scoring: 80 points allocated using the 80/20 formula (Ps = 80
Specific goals (20 points total):
Evidence for specific-goal claims: B-BBEE certificate/affidavit, CSD report, owner ID documents, municipal account/lease agreement, doctor's certificate/disability database
Minimum qualifying score: not stated
Bidder must not be a person in the service of the state, nor a company with directors who are state employees
Consortia/joint ventures/sub-contractors: each party must submit separate TCS certificate/PIN/CSD number
Technical Specifications
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)Scope: Supply and delivery of herbal and traditional medicine products for the Ugu Municipality area
Single quotation package: MPOTO BULELANI – Traditional Herbal & Natural Products Package
Items (21 line items) with quantities:
1.1 INDUKU YEMPI – Standard Herbal Preparation – 500 units
1.2 FODO FINISH – Standard Traditional Preparation – 100 units
1.3 IDLISO LOCANSI – Standard Herbal Remedy – 50 units
1.4 ZAMLANDELA – Standard Traditional Preparation – 50 units
1.5 AMATHUNZI – Standard Herbal Preparation – 50 units
1.6 ISIWASHO SOTHANDO 2 – Traditional Spiritual Cleansing Preparation – 100 units
1.7 NO.1 BLUE 1LT – Liquid Preparation, 1 Litre Container – 100 units
1.8 ITHONGA – Standard Traditional Preparation – 100 units
1.9 MKHANYA SALT – Traditional Mineral Salt Pack – 100 units
1.10 INYOSI SALT – Traditional Mineral Salt Pack – 100 units
1.11 MPUKANE GREEN SALT – Traditional Mineral Salt Pack – 100 units
1.12 IMMUNE BOOSTER – Natural Health Supplement/Preparation – 60 units
1.13 INQAMA – Standard Traditional Remedy – 60 units
1.14 IBUTHO – Standard Traditional Preparation – 48 units
1.15 INYOSI OIL – Traditional Natural Wellness Oil – 50 units
1.16 MKHANYA OIL – Traditional Natural Wellness Oil – 50 units
1.17 SBOPHO OIL – Traditional Natural Wellness Oil – 50 units
1.18 MEMBESO OIL – Traditional Natural Wellness Oil – 50 units
1.19 INHLANHLA – Standard Traditional Preparation – 230 units
1.20 ISIBAMBELELO – Standard Traditional Preparation – 230 units
1.21 BHEKA SALT – Traditional Mineral Salt Pack – 158 units
All items must comply strictly with technical, volume and packaging specifications (specifications not detailed in the document)
Delivery location: Ugu Municipality area (exact delivery points not specified)
Pricing schedule must be completed in the provided format; incomplete or altered schedules may invalidate the submission
Quality Management
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)No explicit quality management standards, QA/QC requirements, or certifications specified in the document
Products described as "Standard Herbal Preparation", "Standard Traditional Preparation", "Standard Herbal Remedy", "Traditional Mineral Salt Pack", "Traditional Natural Wellness Oil", "Natural Health Supplement/Preparation" – but no referenced pharmacopoeia, SAHPRA registration, or quality standards mentioned
Pricing Schedule
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)Pricing schedule provided as a structured bill of quantities with 21 line items (see technicalSpecifications for item details)
Bidders must fill in unit prices and total costs in the highlighted blank columns
Rates in ZAR, exclude VAT initially; 15% VAT added on subtotal if registered
Subtotal excluding VAT, 15% VAT, and Total Package 1 Price Including 15% VAT rows included
Master Recapitulation Summary Schedule aggregates package totals to a Grand Tender Offer Incl. VAT
Incomplete or altered schedules may invalidate the submission
Financial Requirements
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)Pricing format: fixed price quotation on company letterhead
Currency: South African Rand (ZAR)
VAT: rates quoted exclude VAT initially; 15% VAT added on subtotal row if vendor is VAT-registered
Total price must be inclusive of VAT and all costs relating to disbursements
No bid security, bond, guarantee, retention or payment terms specified
No minimum turnover or financial capacity threshold stated
Compliance Requirements
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)Central Supplier Database (CSD): registration mandatory (MAAA number required)
Tax compliance: SARS Tax Compliance Status PIN required (or printed TCS certificate if PIN unavailable); non-compliant status requires PIN submission
B-BBEE: certificate or sworn affidavit required to claim preference points
Specific-goal evidence: B-BBEE certificate/affidavit, CSD report, owner ID documents, municipal account/lease agreement, doctor's certificate/disability database
Company registration: CIPC registration implied (company registration number field on SBD 6.1)
Authority to sign: proof of authority (e.g. board resolution) must be submitted
Foreign suppliers: must complete questionnaire in SBD 1 Part A
No CIDB grading required (not construction)
No professional body registration specified
No local content requirement specified
B-BBEE Requirements
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)B-BBEE certificate or sworn affidavit required to claim preference points
Specific goals points allocated for Black Ownership (max 10), Black Women Ownership (max 4), Black Youth Ownership (max 3), Disability (max 3)
EMEs (≤R10M revenue): sworn affidavit acceptable
QSEs (≤R50M revenue): applicable certificate or qualifying affidavit
Entities >R50M revenue: valid B-BBEE certificate required
Affidavit must contain ownership and revenue information; deponent and Commissioner of Oaths must sign on same date; Commissioner must be independent
Health & Safety
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)No occupational health and safety requirements, safety plans, or HSE compliance specifications mentioned in the document
Contractual Terms
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)Contract form: successful bidder must complete and sign SBD 7 (written contract form)
Governing framework: Preferential Procurement Policy Framework Act 2000, Preferential Procurement Regulations 2017, General Conditions of Contract (GCC), and any applicable special conditions of contract
Bid validity: not explicitly stated
Sub-contracting/consortia: each party must submit separate tax compliance documentation
Fraudulent claims: organ of state may disqualify, recover costs/damages, cancel contract, recommend restriction from public sector business for up to 10 years, and refer for criminal prosecution
Bidder warranties: bid prepared independently, no collusion, no disclosure of terms to competitors, no improper communication with procuring institution officials
Special Conditions
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)Specific goals table with ownership/disability thresholds and point allocations as detailed in evaluationCriteria
B-BBEE certificate/affidavit mandatory for preference points
Late bids not accepted
Bids must be submitted on official forms provided (not re-typed)
Successful bidder must sign SBD 7 contract form
Tax compliance mandatory for all parties in consortia/JVs
False declarations lead to disqualification, cost recovery, contract cancellation, potential 10-year restriction from public sector, and criminal prosecution
Requirements
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)Mandatory returnable documents: SBD 1, SBD 4, SBD 6.1 (all signed and completed)
Mandatory evidence: CSD registration (MAAA), SARS Tax Compliance Status PIN (or TCS certificate)
Pricing: fixed price on company letterhead, inclusive of VAT and all disbursement costs
B-BBEE evidence for preference points: certificate or sworn affidavit (EME/QSE)
Specific-goal supporting documents: owner IDs, municipal account/lease, doctor's certificate/disability database
Authority to sign: board resolution or similar proof
Foreign suppliers: complete SBD 1 questionnaire
No person in service of state may bid; no directors who are state employees
Section
Source: REQUEST FOR QUOTATION – RFQ OVF 2026-008-UGU.pdf (RFQ)80/20 preference point system: Price 80 points, Specific Goals 20 points
Specific Goals breakdown:
Points claimed via SBD 6.1 with supporting evidence
Failure to submit proof for specific goals = points not claimed
Organ of state reserves right to substantiate claims at any time
Sets the constitutional standard for fair, equitable, transparent, competitive and cost-effective public procurement.
Relevant because this is a South African public-sector procurement opportunity.
Act 5 of 2000
Covers preferential procurement and preference-point systems used in public tenders.
Relevant because this is a South African public-sector procurement opportunity.
Act 12 of 2004
Supports anti-corruption controls and supplier integrity in procurement processes.
Relevant because this is a South African public-sector procurement opportunity.
Act 28 of 2024
Provides the national framework for public procurement across government.
Relevant because this is a South African public-sector procurement opportunity.
Act 2 of 2000
Supports access to tender records, award decisions and public-sector procurement information.
Relevant because this is a South African public-sector procurement opportunity.
Act 3 of 2000
Supports lawful, reasonable and procedurally fair administrative tender decisions.
Relevant because this is a South African public-sector procurement opportunity.
Address
2 Kingsmead Blvd, Stamford Hill, Durban, 4025, South Africa
Source confidence
High source confidence
Official source
eTenders.gov.za
Documents found
1
Last checked
21 Sept 2026
AI status
Enhanced
Data conflicts
None detected
This tender has strong source evidence, including source metadata and supporting tender information synced from the government tender portal.
Tenders SA is not the issuing authority. All tenders are automatically synced from the official government tender portal. Always confirm final submission details, closing dates, briefing sessions, eligibility requirements, and documents on the official government portal before applying.
Contact
031-372-3720[email protected]www.kzngrowthfund.co.za2 Kingsmead Blvd, Stamford Hill, Durban, 4025, South Africa
Key Personnel
Learn how to submit a winning bid with these related articles
Win consulting, legal, accounting, and engineering service contracts with government. Learn registration requirements and proposal strategies.
Win government insurance, banking, actuarial, and financial consulting contracts. FSCA licensing requirements and tender strategies for financial service providers.
Master the art of the consulting bid. How to structure your methodology, price your services competitively, and score maximum evaluation points.
A professional guide for law firms to join the provincial and municipal legal panels in Gauteng, covering compliance, specialization, and bidding.
💡 Want more tendering tips and strategies?
Explore Our BlogGet deep intelligence on Other service activities. Unlock full pricing strategies, bid frequency, and historical win rates.